It’s Time to Play the Music, It’s Time to Light the Lights

Muppets logo (from Wikimedia)“Oy, Z,” the scary editor yelled as she chucked things at me, “can you think of a GUST for this issue?” She’s always chucking things at us, though usually it is in the form of tasty snacks so it can be forgiven. But, y’know, the boss asked so I put my thinking hat on and promptly got to work.

… Well, no, I lazed around and listened to The Muppets soundtrack repeatedly. Well, it’s been a bit of a bad week for me, and whenever I have one of those, I find the Muppets are always good for cheering me up. Always have been actually, ever since I was a very small z.

That’s when the obvious hit me, and yeah, it’s kind of ridiculous that it took as long as it did but hey, like I said, it’s been a bit of a bad week so my mind is not at its usual highly fast processing speed. But where to begin? The show? The music? The movies? The comic books?

The Muppet Show Comic Book

Actually, how many people outside of mega Muppets fans know about the comic books? Originally published by Boom! Kids Studios, now KaBoom, these were two distinct different series that really got the Muppet spirit in such a fantastic way. First thing to remember; this was before Disney brought out the surprisingly brilliant movie, and any attempts of Muppet media outside of the Youtube channel had been … well, alright, I guess.

But then came along Roger Langridge, and his series where he drew and wrote the stories in the style of the old Muppet Show. And they were brilliant. I wish I could begin to properly describe the awesome to you.; Langridge’s art manages to get the characters across in the way that you know they would be, and his writing shows that he understands them. Sad thing is though, despite the title being now owned by Marvel, it doesn’t look likely that Langridge will be able to continue the awesome comics of awesome. However, the last four issues were published under the Marvel and have been collected in the trade paperback Four Seasons due out in December. A gift for the Muppet fan in your life, perhaps?

So, why? Why do I like the Muppets so much that I am choosing to ramble incoherently about them at you all, dear Wanderers. I don’t suppose you’d accept the answer ‘they’re awesome, deal with it’? No, thought not. See, here’s the thing: it is genuinely hard for me to explain why I love these characters so very much.

The Muppets have been a constant in my life, and they’ve always made me laugh, and smile, and sometimes even tear up with their sheer sincerity. They’re always there, and there’s always going to be at least one you like. The effort put into everything they do is remarkable and… well…

Someday I’ll find it, the rainbow connection, the lovers, the dreamers, and me.

Z McAspurren (We do not talk of Muppets in Space)

The Muppet Show Series 1, Series 2, and Series 3, are available on Amazon.
Also available: The Muppet Movie, The Muppets Take Manhattan, The Great Muppet Caper, Muppet Christmas Carol, Muppet Treasure Island, and The Muppets.

The Editor would like to point out that no writers were harmed in the making of this article.

This entry was posted in Comic, Film/Movie, GUST, Issue Eleven, TV and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

